top of page

Why You should Know Astaxanthin & Why it SHOULD be on Your Skin!

The first time I learned about Astaxanthin was when I was solidly skating derby...I was told my one of my more Naturopathic friends that it was great to take AFTER workouts and Bouts for what most athletes called "recovery". So the more I read about it, the more I liked what I was reading. I started supplementing my diet with it as well by purchasing Bio Astin's Astaxanthin directly from Nutrex until I found it in my local Costco. Not only did it help wit my faulty knee tendons, but people started asking me about my skin and what I was doing.

For most of my clients, Astaxanthin is Greek!! I know the first time I heard it, I said, “Asta-what?” The funny thing is, this ingredient is NOTHING new! It is a power-house antioxidant . So today in my blog, Id like to go into it a bit more in-depth with regard to the numerous benefits of Astaxanthin.

What IS Astaxanthin? (pronounced Asta Zan theen)

If you need a quick refresher, Astaxanthin is one of nature’s most potent antioxidants, it is what is as a Caretenoid. It is primarily found in marine life including algae, wild salmon, red trout, krill, shrimp, crabs, and lobsters. It gives flamingos and salmon their brilliant pink hue – and in the case of salmon gives them the ability to swim upstream. ( remember by tendon strength?)

So, how does it Help My Skin?

Astaxanthin never becomes "pro-oxidant". What I mean is, it never stops protecting our cells against oxidation. In simpler terms, oxidation is a form of decay or decomposition.

Astaxanthin also has incredible UV-blocking properties, which helps to assist the skin in protecting itself against photo-toxicity or "sun/light related" damage. ( think Arizona and the Southwest here!) Astaxanthin is NOT and DOES NOT contain an SPF rating. Which means you will need to use an SPF in addition to applications of or ingestion of the ingredient.

Here are a few other ways Astaxanthin should be added to your skincare routine:

1.) In addition to skin-related benefits, Astaxanthin can be taken as a supplement. (It is out of my scope of licensure to speak on supplementation, so please speak with your PCP or the herbalists at places such as Sprouts.) There are a a few clinical studies ( please Google them!!) which speak of how Astaxanthin can increase energy, strength, eye health, and brain health, to name a few. 2.) Astaxanthin has the ability to neutralize multiple free radicals at once, protecting not only your your skin but your body from oxidation, damage, and inflammation.

3.) And my favorite..... While I may be reaching here, a white paper study published found that Astaxanthin is 65 times stronger than Vitamin C in combating free radicals. In so far as the beauty industry and buzz words such as CoQ10? This same white paper study found Astaxanthin was 800 times stronger than CoQ10 and 550 times stronger than Everyones FAVORITE anti-oxidant, Green Tea.

Red Algae being "grown" into Astaxanthin in Hawaii

How can I use Astaxanthin on my Skin? After a lot of interviewing and sample trying, I discovered and settled on a company local to me in Scottsdale who is a pioneer in LED Treatments for the Skin. That company, coincidentally, has the same initials as our company....ABI Dermaceuticals. For those of you who have been into treatment, you KNOW I suggest Astaxanthin from Costco. But now you are able to purchase Astaxanthin for daytime use from Angel M. Brant, Aesthetics.

This serum can be used Day AND Night and contains ingredients such as the Protein builder "Aspartic Acid" as well as Omega-3 rich Caviar which makes the skin glow with strength. Caviar Extract also has the ability to help to prevent free radical formation. It includes B1, B2, B6 as well as A, E, and D. It also contains constituents including cobalt, copper, iodine, iron, magnesium silicium and zinc. Amino acids present are glutamic acid, glycine, methionine, Iysine, arginine and histine.

The retail cost for the Intense Antioxidant Serum is $68.

Since Anti-oxidants DO oxidize over time, this will be a special order product that will ship directly from the manufacturer in Scottsdale as a drop shipment to you. I will NOT carry this in office. Samples may be purchased in the future as I am currently negotiating with ABI for the best pricing. In Finality.....

After a LOT of research and taking Astaxanthin myself, I am no longer skeptical but am a believer! I am hopeful you will do your research as well and of course don't hesitate to book a consult to discuss how this ingredient can be readily added to your regiment! Especially if you are a lady who recently has gone through Ablative treatments such as Fractional, Pixel and Co2 laser! I will also be offering it starting September 8th side-by-side with ABI's "Sensible Sunshade" Broad Spectrum SPF 28 ( Zinc and Titanium Dioxide enriched) To You and YOUR SKIN's Health~!! Angel

^j^

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page